Future Forecast Settings

Discuss advection schemes, timestepping, pressure gradients, coordinates, etc.

Future Forecast Settings

Postby Juarez.VO » Tue Apr 09, 2013 1:40 pm

Hello everyone.

First of all, I'm new to WRF and to Unix, but I've succeded on compiling WRF (now I set it to smpar), WPS and WRFDA using gfortran on a OpenSuse machine, and I've also succeded on running a few test cases, like the Katrina one.

I've downloaded 9 GFS Analysis Only files, from 2013-04-07_00 to 2013-04-09_00, I can run the model perfectly for the same period.

My question: how can I make a forecast beyond the last GFS file date?

For exemple: my start date is set to 2013-04-08-00 and I want it to end not on 2013-04-09_00, but on 2013-04-10_00.
I've setted the namelist.input to run for 2 days and it runs out of out of valid boundary conditions in file wrfbdy_d01. I've also tryed a restart run, without succes.

Any help will be appreciated.

My namelist.input with a few modifications that I try to solve the problem:
&time_control
run_days = 3,
run_hours = 0,
run_minutes = 0,
run_seconds = 0,
start_year = 2013,
start_month = 04,
start_day = 07,
start_hour = 00,
start_minute = 00,
start_second = 00,
end_year = 2013,
end_month = 04,
end_day = 09,
end_hour = 00,
end_minute = 00,
end_second = 00,
interval_seconds = 21600
input_from_file = .true.,
history_interval = 180,
frames_per_outfile = 1000,
restart = .false.,
restart_interval = 1440,
io_form_history = 2
io_form_restart = 2
io_form_input = 2
io_form_boundary = 2
auxinput4_interval = 60
io_form_auxinput4 = 2
diag_print = 2
auxhist2_outname = "rainfall_d"
debug_level = 0
Juarez.VO

Re: Future Forecast Settings

Postby Phillip » Tue Apr 16, 2013 6:52 am