rsl.out.0000 not showing successful run

Any issues with the actual running of the WRF.

rsl.out.0000 not showing successful run

Postby ram reddy » Thu Nov 17, 2016 2:22 pm

Hi all,

I'm running model, but rsl error and out files not showing successful completion. rsl error and out file are copied below. please go through it and help to point out the problem. thanks in advance...

rsl.error.0000
ranjith@ranjith-OptiPlex-9010:~/WRF/Build_WRF/WRFV3/test/em_real$ tail rsl.error.0000
#3 0x16D3830 in __module_ra_rrtm_MOD_taugb3
#4 0x16D58C2 in __module_ra_rrtm_MOD_gasabs
#5 0x16E93B0 in __module_ra_rrtm_MOD_rrtm
#6 0x16ECFC8 in __module_ra_rrtm_MOD_rrtmlwrad
#7 0x1311358 in __module_radiation_driver_MOD_radiation_driver
#8 0x13D0E6C in __module_first_rk_step_part1_MOD_first_rk_step_part1
#9 0xF8DEA5 in solve_em_
#10 0xEB0948 in solve_interface_
#11 0x461630 in __module_integrate_MOD_integrate
#12 0x405DC3 in __module_wrf_top_MOD_wrf_run

rsl.out.0000
ranjith@ranjith-OptiPlex-9010:~/WRF/Build_WRF/WRFV3/test/em_real$ tail rsl.out.0000
Timing for main: time 2016-05-09_09:56:42 on domain 2: 10.11591 elapsed seconds
Timing for main: time 2016-05-09_09:56:42 on domain 1: 35.69366 elapsed seconds
Timing for main: time 2016-05-09_09:56:48 on domain 2: 10.12083 elapsed seconds
Timing for main: time 2016-05-09_09:56:54 on domain 2: 10.11640 elapsed seconds
Timing for main: time 2016-05-09_09:57:00 on domain 2: 10.12212 elapsed seconds
Timing for main: time 2016-05-09_09:57:00 on domain 1: 35.66974 elapsed seconds
Timing for main: time 2016-05-09_09:57:06 on domain 2: 10.12306 elapsed seconds
Timing for main: time 2016-05-09_09:57:12 on domain 2: 10.11201 elapsed seconds
Timing for main: time 2016-05-09_09:57:18 on domain 2: 10.13630 elapsed seconds
Timing for main: time 2016-05-09_09:57:18 on domain 1: 35.69154 elapsed seconds


Namelist.input
&time_control
run_days = 01,
run_hours = 00,
run_minutes = 0,
run_seconds = 0,
start_year = 2016, 2016,
start_month = 05, 05,
start_day = 09, 09,
start_hour = 06, 06,
start_minute = 00, 00,
start_second = 00, 00,
end_year = 2016, 2016,
end_month = 05, 05,
end_day = 09, 09,
end_hour = 12, 12,
end_minute = 00, 00,
end_second = 00, 00,
interval_seconds = 21600
input_from_file = .true.,.true.,
history_interval = 180, 60,
frames_per_outfile = 1000, 1000,
restart = .false.,
restart_interval = 5000,
io_form_history = 2
io_form_restart = 2
io_form_input = 2
io_form_boundary = 2
debug_level = 0
/

&domains
time_step = 18,
time_step_fract_num = 0,
time_step_fract_den = 1,
max_dom = 2,
e_we = 116, 250,
e_sn = 114, 238,
e_vert = 100, 100,
p_top_requested = 5000,
num_metgrid_levels = 27,
num_metgrid_soil_levels = 4,
dx = 3000, 1000,
dy = 3000, 1000,
grid_id = 1, 2,
parent_id = 1, 1,
i_parent_start = 1, 17,
j_parent_start = 1, 18,
parent_grid_ratio = 1, 3,
parent_time_step_ratio = 1, 3,
eta_levels = 1.0000,0.9899,0.9798,0.9697,0.9596,0.9495,0.9394,0.9293,0.9192,0.9091,0.8990,0.8889,0.8788,0.8687,0.8586,0.8485,0.8384,0.8283,0.8182,0.8081,0.7980,0.7879,0.7778,0.7677,0.7576,0.7475,0.7374,0.7273,0.7172,0.7071,0.6970,0.6869,0.6768,0.6667,0.6566,0.6465,0.6364,0.6263,0.6162,0.6061,0.5960,0.5859,0.5758,0.5657,0.5556,0.5455,0.5354,0.5253,0.5152,0.5051,0.4949,0.4848,0.4747,0.4646,0.4545,0.4444,0.4343,0.4242,0.4141,0.4040,0.3939,0.3838,0.3737,0.3636,0.3535,0.3434,0.3333,0.3232,0.3131,0.3030,0.2929,0.2828,0.2727,0.2626,0.2525,0.2424,0.2323,0.2222,0.2121,0.2020,0.1919,0.1818,0.1717,0.1616,0.1515,0.1414,0.1313,0.1212,0.1111,0.1010,0.0909,0.0808,0.0707,0.0606,0.0505,0.0404,0.0303,0.0202,0.0101,0.0000,


feedback = 1,
smooth_option = 0
/
ram reddy
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2016 3:24 am

Re: rsl.out.0000 not showing successful run

Postby kwthomas » Thu Nov 17, 2016 5:53 pm

Based on the tail of the traceback, I'd say the run seg faulted. This usually means the timestep is too large.

Your grids are 3km and 1km. Your timestep is 18 secs for the larger grid and 6 seconds
for the smaller.

You might try reducing your timestep to 15 secs and see what happens.

There is another possibility. Your timesteps are taking a while, which suggests you are running on one node or doing a MPI on just a few nodes. Maybe you are running into a
memory problem (error). Check rsl.output.0000/rsl.error.0000 for allocation problems.
Whatever the cause, the fatal error should appear before your traceback starts.
Kevin W. Thomas
Center for Analysis and Prediction of Storms
University of Oklahoma
kwthomas
 
Posts: 168
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2008 6:53 pm

Re: rsl.out.0000 not showing successful run

Postby ram reddy » Sat Nov 19, 2016 10:55 am

I tried with time_step = 15 but still rsl our error showing same as above sir. can i need to change any thing more
ram reddy
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2016 3:24 am

Re: rsl.out.0000 not showing successful run

Postby kwthomas » Mon Nov 21, 2016 4:52 pm

I've never done nested runs, so I don't know what is right and what isn't.

You might try setting "debug_level" to 9999 and see the program logs anything useful in its details. You'll probably have a lot of output to go thru.
Kevin W. Thomas
Center for Analysis and Prediction of Storms
University of Oklahoma
kwthomas
 
Posts: 168
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2008 6:53 pm


Return to Runtime Problems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests