Re: KPP runtime error

Any issues with the actual running of the WRF.

Re: KPP runtime error

Postby sumitakedia » Tue Jan 19, 2016 7:06 am

Hi,

I'm getting the following message when running WRFChem version 3.7.1 with my KPP mechanism:

Forced exit from Rosenbrock due to the following error:
No of steps exceeds maximum bound
T= 60.0000000000000 and H= 60.0000000000000
[/b]

I tried to increase all the time steps in namelist but same message appears. If someone knows the solution then kindly help.

my namelist.input is appended below:

&time_control
start_year = 2014,
start_month = 03,
start_day = 25,
start_hour = 00,
start_minute = 00,
start_second = 00,
end_year = 2014,
end_month = 04,
end_day = 10,
end_hour = 00,
end_minute = 00,
end_second = 00,
interval_seconds = 21600,
input_from_file = .false.,
history_interval = 180,
frames_per_outfile = 1,
restart = .false.,
restart_interval = 720,
io_form_history = 2,
io_form_restart = 2,
io_form_input = 2,
io_form_boundary = 2,
io_form_auxinput2 = 2,
auxinput5_inname = 'wrfchemi_<hour>_d<domain>',
auxinput6_inname = 'wrfbiochemi_d<domain>',
auxinput7_inname = 'wrffirechemi_d<domain>_<date>',
auxinput5_interval_m = 60,
auxinput7_interval_m = 60,
auxinput6_interval_d = 90,
io_form_auxinput5 = 2,
io_form_auxinput6 = 2,
io_form_auxinput7 = 2,
frames_per_auxinput5 = 12,
frames_per_auxinput7 = 1,
auxinput1_inname = 'met_em.d<domain>.<date>',
debug_level = 1,
/

&dfi_control
/

&domains
time_step = 60,
time_step_fract_num = 0,
time_step_fract_den = 1,
max_dom = 1,
e_we = 535,
s_we = 1,
e_sn = 250,
e_vert = 51,
eta_levels = 1.00000, 0.99381, 0.98643, 0.97786, 0.96815,
0.95731, 0.94538, 0.93122, 0.91490, 0.89653,
0.87621, 0.85405, 0.82911, 0.80160, 0.77175,
0.73981, 0.70509, 0.66798, 0.62889, 0.58823,
0.54957, 0.51281, 0.47788, 0.44471, 0.41323,
0.38336, 0.35503, 0.32819, 0.30276, 0.27869,
0.25592, 0.23439, 0.21405, 0.19484, 0.17672,
0.15963, 0.14352, 0.12836, 0.11410, 0.10070,
0.08811, 0.07630, 0.06523, 0.05487, 0.04517,
0.03611, 0.02765, 0.01977, 0.01243, 0.00560,
0.00000,
p_top_requested = 1000,
num_metgrid_levels = 38,
num_metgrid_soil_levels = 4,
dx = 10000,
dy = 10000,
grid_id = 1,
parent_id = 1,
i_parent_start = 1,
j_parent_start = 1,
parent_grid_ratio = 1,
parent_time_step_ratio = 1,
feedback = 1,
smooth_option = 0,
sfcp_to_sfcp = .true.,
/

&physics
mp_physics = 10,
progn = 1,
ra_lw_physics = 4,
ra_sw_physics = 4,
radt = 30,
sf_sfclay_physics = 1,
sf_surface_physics = 2,
sf_urban_physics = 1,
bl_pbl_physics = 1,
bldt = 0,
cu_physics = 5,
cu_diag = 1,
cudt = 0,
isfflx = 1,
ifsnow = 1,
icloud = 1,
surface_input_source = 1,
num_soil_layers = 4,
mp_zero_out = 2,
cu_rad_feedback = .true.,
slope_rad = 0,
topo_shading = 0,
/

&fdda
/

&dynamics

rk_ord = 3,
w_damping = 1,
diff_opt = 1,
km_opt = 4,
diff_6th_opt = 0,
diff_6th_factor = 0.12,
base_temp = 290.,
damp_opt = 3,
zdamp = 5000.,
dampcoef = 0.2,
khdif = 0,
kvdif = 0,
smdiv = 0.1,
emdiv = 0.01,
epssm = 0.1,
non_hydrostatic = .true.,
moist_adv_opt = 2,
scalar_adv_opt = 2,
chem_adv_opt = 2,
tke_adv_opt = 2,
h_mom_adv_order = 5,
v_mom_adv_order = 3,
h_sca_adv_order = 5,
v_sca_adv_order = 3,
/


&bdy_control
spec_bdy_width = 5,
spec_zone = 1,
relax_zone = 4,
specified = .true.,
nested = .false.,
/

&grib2
/

&namelist_quilt
nio_tasks_per_group = 0,
nio_groups = 1,
/

&chem
kemit = 1,
chem_opt = 202,
bioemdt = 30,
photdt = 30,
chemdt = 05,
emiss_inpt_opt = 101,
emiss_opt = 10,
io_style_emissions = 1,
chem_in_opt = 0,
phot_opt = 3,
gas_drydep_opt = 1,
aer_drydep_opt = 1,
bio_emiss_opt = 3,
gas_bc_opt = 1,
gas_ic_opt = 1,
aer_bc_opt = 1,
aer_ic_opt = 1,
gaschem_onoff = 1,
aerchem_onoff = 1,
wetscav_onoff = 1,
cldchem_onoff = 0,
vertmix_onoff = 1,
chem_conv_tr = 1,
conv_tr_wetscav = 1,
conv_tr_aqchem = 1,
seas_opt = 2,
dust_opt = 2,
dmsemis_opt = 1,
biomass_burn_opt = 3,
plumerisefire_frq = 60,
have_bcs_chem = .true.,
aer_ra_feedback = 1,
aer_op_opt = 1,
ne_area = 400,
opt_pars_out = 1,
scale_fire_emiss = .true.,
/


Regards,
Sumita.
sumitakedia
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 5:54 am

Re: KPP runtime error

Postby makr » Fri Mar 10, 2017 4:53 am

Dear Sumita,
Have you solved this problem? I got the same error message for chem_opt=42 using WRF 3.8.1.
Best,
Maciej
makr
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2016 10:50 am

Re: KPP runtime error

Postby suzi_wrf » Sun Mar 12, 2017 9:06 am

Hi Maciej/Sumita,

Did you manage to overcome this error? I'm getting same error, no matter how small or large I make the time_step.

Any help would be appreciated,
Suzanne
suzi_wrf
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2016 2:52 pm

Re: KPP runtime error

Postby zxdawn » Fri Dec 07, 2018 11:10 pm

The kpp compilation failed! You should check the compilation log.
If you find a warning like this:
Code: Select all
If kpp fails here the path to WRF-Chem might be too long for yacc ...

Then you should check the absolute path of WRFV3 if shorter than 40 and compile WRF-Chem again.

Update:
If you're using optimization, please set it to '-O1'.
You can check the reason http://forum.mmm.ucar.edu/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=83&t=502#p1566.
zxdawn
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2017 8:48 pm


Return to Runtime Problems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests