Page 1 of 1

Anyone uses WRF for hobby?

PostPosted: Wed Sep 26, 2012 5:16 am
by cmkpl
As title.

If you are runnung WRF just for hobby, are you using your home computer to run? What is the quality of output?

Re: Anyone uses WRF for hobby?

PostPosted: Wed Sep 26, 2012 6:02 am
by surgeon
Sure. Home PC. No problem with output quality.

Re: Anyone uses WRF for hobby?

PostPosted: Wed Sep 26, 2012 6:36 am
by cmkpl
Great! how long time did you run for a forecast? Also, what's the resolution of the run?

Also, what's your input? just a GFS 0h grib file, for example?

Re: Anyone uses WRF for hobby?

PostPosted: Fri Sep 28, 2012 6:16 am
by surgeon
I think that more important than resolution is the area on which we forecast.
I run 9.2 km resolution and it takes about 1h. Also I use GFS as input data.

Re: Anyone uses WRF for hobby?

PostPosted: Fri Sep 16, 2016 3:13 am
by Flyerman
I use WRF for hobby. This is my small project http://meteo.starport.cz/