Running WRF with ECMWF ERA-Interim Dataset

Dataset specific topics involving WPS.

Running WRF with ECMWF ERA-Interim Dataset

Postby SXM » Fri May 08, 2009 1:51 am

Hello,

Although I am quite new to WRF, but I need to use ECMWF-interim data for WRF running.

My question is
1. It looks like the ECMWF-interim data (http://data-portal.ecmwf.int/data/d/interim_daily/) need to be processed before can be used to WRF. Is here any one did it before and would like to share experiences with me? Thanks!
2. Need I change the Vtable for the ECMWF-interim or just keep using the default ECMWF Vtable in the WRF release?

Thanks in advance for any reply!

Best,

SXM
SXM

Re: Running WRF with ECMWF ERA-Interim Dataset

Postby lzhang » Tue May 12, 2009 2:40 pm

Hi,

I also have the same problem. Did you solve this problem?

Thanks!
lzhang

Postby Imewrf » Tue Oct 27, 2009 10:43 am

Hi,
Did you solve your problem and did you make some test to analyse the improvement of the ERA interim product ?
Thanks you!
Imewrf

Postby scaine » Mon Feb 22, 2010 6:12 pm

Copying my response from a different post (Hope this helps)

I managed to get WRF working with ECMWF (interium) so if you want to keep shooting messages we can try and work through till you have it working.

One thing I noticed with my ECMWF files, the data was arranged differently to what WPS expects
i.e. in the ECMWF files the fields would be arranged Temperature, time 1 time 2 time 3, Pressure time 1 time 2 time 3.
Instead of Temperature time 1, Pressure time 1, Temperature time2, pressure time 2. etc

I had to change the data times around before I could get it working.

Hope this helps, If not send more information and I will try again

Simon
scaine

Postby edelweiss » Thu Feb 25, 2010 7:39 am

I run WRF several times with ERA-Interim data without any change in Vtable. But I remember that some fields have different names in ERA-Interim. Then you must choose at least Pressure level and Surface data.My basic fields are :