geogrid with 2 domains.

Having problems running the WRF Preprocessing Sysmte (WPS)?

geogrid with 2 domains.

Postby Daniël » Wed May 07, 2008 4:53 am

Hi trying to run geogrid, but I keep getting the following error:

wrf@wrf1:~/WRF3/WPS$ ./geogrid.exe
Parsed 11 entries in GEOGRID.TBL
Latitude of origin corner required as follows:
-90N <= lat1 < = 90.N
ERROR: MAP_INIT


When I run just one domain all goes fine. I just set "max_dom" to "1" instead of "2".

Does anybody know what I'm doing wrong? Maybe something with pole_lat en pole_lon?

Thanks!

Daniël

namelist
&share
wrf_core = 'ARW',
max_dom = 2,
start_date = '2008-05-07_00:00:00','2008-05-07_00:00:00'
end_date = '2008-05-08_18:00:00','2008-05-07_00:00:00'
interval_seconds = 3600
io_form_geogrid = 2,
debug_level = 0
/

&geogrid
parent_id = 1, 1,
parent_grid_ratio = 1, 3,
i_parent_start = 1, 6,
j_parent_start = 1, 6,
s_we = 1, 1,
e_we = 85, 79,
s_sn = 1, 1,
e_sn = 185, 175,
geog_data_res = '30s','30s',
dx = 9000,
dy = 9000,
map_proj = 'lat-lon',
ref_lat = 56.048,
ref_lon = -0.462,
stand_lon = -0.462,
pole_lat = 90,
pole_lon = 0,
geog_data_path = '/home/wrf/data/WPS_data/'
/

&ungrib
out_format = 'WPS'
prefix = 'ECMWF'
/

&metgrid
fg_name = 'ECMWF' 'new_PRES'
io_form_metgrid = 2,
/


&mod_levs
press_pa = 14.0, 25.0, 28.0, 31.0, 33.0, 36.0, 39.0, 42.0, 44.0,
46.0, 48.0, 49.0, 51.0, 52.0, 53.0, 54.0, 55.0, 56.0,
57.0, 58.0, 59.0, 60.0
/
Daniël
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2008 7:43 am

Re: geogrid with 2 domains.

Postby alainaketh » Thu Apr 21, 2016 1:22 pm

Hi,

I've used the utility plotgrids.ncl to check the domains.When I run plotgrids with one domain, I get the following message:

"warning:MapSetTrans: map limits invalid - using maximal area"

This is a warning so even so, plotgrids run. What it shows is a map of the whole world which was foreseeable considering that the warning message said that it was "using maximal area".

When I run plotgrids for two domains, I get the following error:

"warning:MapSetTrans: map limits invalid - using maximal area
fatal:Subscript out of range, error in subscript #0
fatal:An error occurred reading xf
fatal:["Execute.c":8575]:Execute: Error occurred at or near line 4629 in file $NCARG_ROOT/lib/ncarg/nclscripts/csm/gsn_code.ncl

fatal:["Execute.c":8575]:Execute: Error occurred at or near line 4844 in file $NCARG_ROOT/lib/ncarg/nclscripts/csm/gsn_code.ncl

fatal:["Execute.c":8575]:Execute: Error occurred at or near line 4403 in file $NCARG_ROOT/lib/ncarg/nclscripts/wrf/WRFUserARW.ncl

fatal:["Execute.c":8575]:Execute: Error occurred at or near line 200 in file ./util/plotgrids_new.ncl"

My guess is that the domains are incorrectly set and that WRF crashes trying to plot something that is not adequately determined in logical coordinates.

My solution? Use another projection. I've been looking for info on how to set up WRF with lat-lon coordinates LIKE CRAZY FOR MORE THAN A WEEK because I get really weird things even following the instructions in the manual (see Section "Step 1: define model domains with geogrid" in http://www2.mmm.ucar.edu/wrf/users/docs/user_guide_V3/users_guide_chap3.htm). The best I could find was a recommendation on using CORDEX values, but I never found out how exactly.

Cheers,

Alaina.
alainaketh
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2015 12:30 pm


Return to Runtime Problems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron