Vtable for using ECMWF data to WRF - Repost from old forum

Dataset specific topics involving SI.

Vtable for using ECMWF data to WRF - Repost from old forum

Postby malonso » Sun Nov 30, 2008 1:58 am

Hi everybody:

I have already put the Vtable for EC to this web site:

(I use rapidshare service)

http://rapidshare.de/files/8361958/Vtable.TOGA.html

You can download the Vtable from this URL link for 30 days.

If link be deleted, please let me know, and I will upload again.

I still have any other problem when using other datasource

hope the we can discuss together.

Thanks ^^

Jhih-Ying Chen
National Centeral University, Taiwan
Instiute of Atmos. Science.
malonso
Site Admin
 
Posts: 158
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2008 9:48 pm

Re: Vtable for using ECMWF data to WRF - Repost from old forum

Postby malonso » Sun Nov 30, 2008 1:59 am

here is how to use EC data in WRFSI

step 1) put Vtable.TOGA in the wrfsi/extdata/static directory

step 2) please modify the code wrfsi/src/grib_prep/util/parase_table.F, find out
the code looks like this:

! The second field is the Grib1 level type:

if (string(istart:ibar) == ' ') then
if (lcode(maxvar) /= blankcode) then
^^^^^^
---> here is wrong!! it's should be "gcode"

step 3) modified the other fortran code here wrfsi/src/grib_prep/grib.misc/rrpr.F
! Check to see if we need to fill HGT from GEOPT.
!
do k = 1, nlvl
if (plvl(k).lt.200000.) then
^^^^^^
--->because sfc HGT is 2001000...modified to 200200

if (.not. is_there(nint(plvl(k)), 'HGT').and. &

step 4) recompile wrfsi

step 5) it should be ok now~~


Good Luck~
Jhih-Ying Chen
National Central University, Taiwan
Institute of Atmos. Science
malonso
Site Admin
 
Posts: 158
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2008 9:48 pm

Re: Vtable for using ECMWF data to WRF - Repost from old forum

Postby malonso » Sun Nov 30, 2008 1:59 am

Hi, Jhih-Ying Chen.
Is your mail address: mkazami@mail.atm.ncu.edu.tw?
I tried to send you a mail (with some attachments) but I don't get contact with the mailserver.

Best regards:
Bjorn Egil K. Nygaard
Dept. of geosciences
University of Oslo, Norway.
malonso
Site Admin
 
Posts: 158
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2008 9:48 pm

Re: Vtable for using ECMWF data to WRF - Repost from old forum

Postby malonso » Sun Nov 30, 2008 1:59 am

Hi

really!?

I think that our department mail server's problem

if you want to send me a mail, try this maill address:

s1621006@cc.ncu.edu.tw

if still not work, you can reply here. I will see it everyday.
malonso
Site Admin
 
Posts: 158
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2008 9:48 pm

Re: Vtable for using ECMWF data to WRF - Repost from old forum

Postby malonso » Sun Nov 30, 2008 1:59 am

Hi all,

I am also trying to run WRF with ECMWF data.Perhaps you can give me some clues to solve my problems.

I followed Jhih-Ying Chen's suggestions and there were no problems with grib_prep.pl, but now wrfprep.pl is crashing, both hinterp, vinterp have problems apparently with levels.
In particular, the crash is in proc_list_to_array, because fg_vertical_index is going behind the limit which is number_of_original_levels+num_new_levels.
Any idea what the problem is and how to solve this?

I was also wondering what kind of ECMWF data you are using. Could you send me a link to the EC data or the exact data filename?


Thanks,

Manuel
malonso
Site Admin
 
Posts: 158
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2008 9:48 pm

Re: Vtable for using ECMWF data to WRF - Repost from old forum

Postby malonso » Sun Nov 30, 2008 2:00 am

Hello:

Here is the WRFSI that I have already tested:

WRFSI: v2.1 V2.0.3

WRF model: V2.0.3 V2.1

so you can try these version first.

It's very sorry that I didn't post clearly.

I haven't try v2.1.1 now.

I will try v2.1.1 both WRFSI and WRF with EC data as soon as possible.


Thanks everybody ^^

Best Regards

Jhih-Ying Chen
National Central University, Taiwan
Institute of Atmos. Sciense
malonso
Site Admin
 
Posts: 158
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2008 9:48 pm


Return to Working with Various Datasets

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests