Could you run WRF forever?

Any problems/questions that might not fall into the other topics in this category.

Could you run WRF forever?

Postby tbraam » Tue Jun 21, 2016 7:20 am

Hi all, just a thought I have.

What do you think would happen if you initialize WRF for an arbitrary domain setup and set a runtime of several years? Do you think you would see seasons, change in synoptic weather systems etc. etc?

Just share your thoughts on this. :)
tbraam
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2016 7:13 am

Re: Could you run WRF forever?

Postby winash12 » Thu Aug 04, 2016 6:02 am

Great question. Can you sponsor me for a machine so that I can run these tests for your sake ?

I will acknowledge you of course :-)
winash12
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu May 29, 2014 2:56 am

Re: Could you run WRF forever?

Postby pelikov » Sun Sep 04, 2016 7:34 am

does not work I think))
pelikov
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 7:27 am
Location: USA

Re: Could you run WRF forever?

Postby kwthomas » Fri Sep 09, 2016 4:43 pm

Even if you had the computer resource (lots of disk, no schedule maintenance, no system problems), it probably won't work. I seem to recall that other people have tried this, and things
eventually fail.

The best way is to run a series of jobs that write out "restart" files (which are *HUGE*), then run the model for a while. The next job starts where the previous one left off.
Kevin W. Thomas
Center for Analysis and Prediction of Storms
University of Oklahoma
kwthomas
 
Posts: 168
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2008 6:53 pm


Return to Miscellaneous

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron